The Wingfeather Saga

Original post found here posted May 30, 2012

The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson

Over the last three years, I have fallen in love with the world of Aerwiar.  Oh that’s right, you probably don’t even know what the world of Aerwiar is do you?  That means you don’t know what a toothy cow or a Fang of Dang is either.  You haven’t even heard of the Jewels of Anniera nor do you know of the mysterious goings-on in Glipwood Forest.  You haven’t sailed the Dark Sea of Darkness or ran for your life from the Stranders of the East Bend, have you?  You can’t imagine the taste of the fruit that grows in the Green Hollows, and I bet you aren’t even afraid of what lies in the Blackwood Forest at the edge of the Killridge Mountains.  I feel sorry for you.  It is time for you to go on an adventure, I encourage you to take your wife and kids along.

Aerwiar has been under the attack of Gnag the Nameless for many years.  His awful Fangs of Dang have made their way across the Dark Sea of Darkness to the land of Skree and Glipwood Township where Janner, Tink, and Leeli Igiby make their home in a little cottage on the edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness.  They spend their days with their mother, their pirate Grandpa, and Leeli’s dog, Nugget.   Their lives are at peace until the dreaded Fangs of Dang begin looking for the lost Jewels of Anniera.   An adventure ensues like you would not believe.  The first book in the Wingfeather Saga, On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, is loaded with action, adventure, peril, creatures of an unknown sort, pirate tales, sea dragons, and a story so riveting you will not be able to put the book down.  On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness is also available in audio format.

After reading through On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness, you will quickly want to pick up the second installment of the Wingfeather Saga, North! Or Be Eaten.  This tale follows the Igiby children north to the Ice Prairies as they try to escape the clutches of the ghastly Fangs of Dang. With the children now on the run, North! Or Be Eaten offers another wild adventure that will keep you turning pages.

The Monster in the Hollows, the recently released book three in the Wingfeather Saga, is the most introspective of the three.  The children, their mother, and Podo their pirate grandfather have found peace again on the other side of the Dark Sea of Darkness in the Green Hollows.  There aren’t many Fangs or physical enemies with whom the children must contend.  However, a more fierce enemy arises when shame and guilt plague some of the characters because of decisions that they have made.

I was excited when I got to the end of The Monster in the Hollows and found out that there was going to be a fourth book, The Warden and the Wolf King. I don’t want the adventure to end!

If you have children I suggest that you get this book and read it with them.  I guarantee it will be time well spent.  Andrew Peterson is a masterful storyteller who is able to weave Christian truths and values into a stunning tale of sibling adventure.  My children are too young to know what is going onwith this tale, but I cannot wait until the day that I can break out the Wingfeather Saga and read it with my family.

If you don’t have children, I suggest that you get these books.  They are masterfully written and appropriate for anyone who can read or listen to a story being read.    You can buy the books from The Rabbit Room or Amazon.

In the famous last words of Radmer Oglesworth from the second epoch in his book For What It’s Worth, “Read with your family and read with your friends.  Don’t stop reading until the adventure ends!”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s